SPF Roundup: Get Ready for Summer!

Make it Simple Sister has your ultimate game plan for summer skin care survival coming out in just a few short weeks…but in the meantime we couldn’t resist sharing the information our guest contributor beauty blogger Janna Mandell serves up in her SPF roundup.

Yes, it’s tough to make SPF sound glamorous, but when you think about the damage the sun does to your skin without it, it gets a lot prettier.  Now, I personally have sensitive skin so I’ve experienced every horror story (like the time when I applied SPF and my cheeks instantly felt like they were on fire, or the time I had an esthetician apply SPF after an oxygen facial and I broke out in ugly red acne-like bumps) so I only love SPFs that play nice with my angry skin.  Here are a few of my favorites:

Neutrogena Ultra-Sheer Dry Touch Sun Block SPF 45 ($7 on Amazon): This has been my “go to” SPF since Neutrogena introduced it.  Just like the name implies, this SPF absorbs quickly to an “ultra sheer dry touch” finish and is gentle enough for most sensitive skin.

Coola Face SPF 30 Matte Finish Cucumber ($36): This light, mineral-based SPF is chemical-free with 70 percent Certified Organic ingredients.  Not only is Coola gentle for angry skin, but it also acts like a primer, filling in pores and fine lines leaving an airbrushed finish. Added bonus: it’s made here in California!

DERMAdoctor Photodynamic Therapy SPF 30 ($85): I know $85 is pretty steep for an SPF, but you’re getting much more than just protection.  This day cream plus SPF actually simulates the proven effects of light therapy. Its patent-pending, solar-powered technology transforms UV rays into visible red light waves, an energy source for skin that elicits anti-aging effects.” I was really skeptical when I first read about this product, but then Allure Magazine had a panel of dermatologists and chemists study the lotion and deem that it really works and featured it in their “Best Beauty Breakthroughs”.  After trying it for three weeks I definitely noticed a difference in the fine lines around my eyes and general redness of my face.

No matter which SPF you use, don’t forget that you should always apply at least a quarter size dollop to your face! Have fun in the sun!

 Follow Janna on Twitter @BeautyBinge and for more beauty advice check out her blog Beauty Binge. Janna was also spotlighted in this year’s Allure Magazine Beauty Blogger Awards!

Disclosure: While we get approximately 50 percent of these products sent to us as samples we only write about the ones we like 100 percent of the time.

Leave a Reply

